Academic Relations

The  FBLS, on the advice of its Academic Committee (whose decision is final), chaired by Lady Dorrian, Lord Justice Clerk, awards two academic prizes.

  • The UK Academic Award, for the UK
  • Le Prix Universitaire Robertson- Horsington, for France.

Since 2012, the aim of both these prizes has been to reward  universities offering joint-degree programmes which promote Franco-British legal understanding. Such study progammes merit both recognition and support for they enable law students, academics , lawyers and judges from both sides of the Channel to work together and to understand and appreciate both the Common Law and Civil Law legal systems and the very different methods of legal reasoning on which they are based.

The UK Academic Prize

The amount of the award is usually £1500. The recipient university undertakes to set up a fund and to award two prizes of £250 or one prize of £500 each year, for three consecutive years, to students who are to be chosen for their academic excellence but also for their strong motivation to help advance Franco-British legal understanding and relations.

Le Prix Universitaire Robertson-Horsington

The amount of this memorial prize is £1000. The recipient university undertakes to set up a fund and to award  a prize of £200 each year, for five consecutive years, to students who are to be chosen for their academic excellence but also for their commitment to promoting Franco-British legal understanding and strengthening the historical ties of friendship  linking the UK and France.

History of the prize

Simon Horsington, a Board member of the Society (and one of its founding members) generously donated the funds to establish this prize in 2004. The prize was to mark the centenary of the Entente Cordiale between France and the United Kingdom, and the 60th Anniversary of the Normandy landings and the liberation of France. It is named in memory of two members of the British Armed Forces (volunteers, 46 Commando Royal Marines, R.N.) who fought in Normandy for a Free France : H S Robertson (of Scone, Scotland, killed in France at Rots, 11 June, 1944), and F W G Horsington (of Wells, Somerset, died 1988).

Application and Procedure

Applications should consist in a written presentation of the joint-degree programme highlighting the strong points and achievements of the particular programme and showing how it enhances Franco-British legal understanding and relations. Applications must be received by the Academic Director of the FBLS by 30 September in each year. Please submit applications using our online form.

Publication of Award Winners

The names of award winners and institutions will be published on the website of the Society and remain there until the next awards are made. The institution will then be added to the list of past recipients.

  • 2018 – Prix Universitaire Robertson-Horsington – Université de Strasbourg
  • 2018 – UK Academic Prize – University of Essex
  • 2017 – Prix Universitaire Robertson-Horsington – Université Toulouse 1 Capitole
  • 2016 – UK Academic Prize – University of Leicester

Past Recipients of Awards

Recipients of FBLS prizes and awards include the following prestigious institutions. Some universities have received more than one award.

  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of East Anglia
  • Ecole des Avocats, Lyon
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Kent
  • King’s College London
  • Kingston University
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Manchester
  • University of Newcastle
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Oxford
  • Université Paris1 Panthéon-Sorbonne
  • Queen Mary, University of London
  • Université de Rennes 1
  • University of Swansea, Wales

Recipients of the student winners of our academic prizes

  • Laura Gray, University of Aberdeen (2015)
  • Mathilde Montaubin, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (2015)
  • Kimberly Neale : University of Aberdeen (2014)
  • Alice Debarre, Université Paris1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (2014)